Untold Saga

I have never met my grandfather…! As he expired long before I was even born and my father was just fifteen at that time….Basically, I grew up listening about his stories from my paternal uncles and my grand pa’s sister, who is still alive.

I really feel proud of him and tell the world proudly that’s he was supervisor at the Bhakra Nangal Dam project in Himachal and Sukhna lake project in Chandigarh….

As well all know that in 1947 India was divided into two parts – Pakistan and India. A lot of lives changed. My grandfather was one of them who had experienced the partition very strongly and gone through a altogether different phase of life..

The saga of struggle and survival still rings loudly in the memories of my uncles… Once he narrated me the whole story about my grand father….He was government officer and used to work in Lahore, now in Pakistan. The year 1947 historically changed the destinies of many people and one of them was my grandfather….who was working there. People used to call him panditji….He survived with help of one Muslim guy who used to work with him.

For twenty days he continued to walk – thirsty and hungry….in one set of clothes and finally reached India with help of that one Muslim guy who helped him to reach this side of border. This clearly states that even after the geographical partition, INDIA wasn’t divided at hearts !!

A lot of untold saga of human life exists out there quietly narrating the painful struggles that people had gone through.!

8 thoughts on “Untold Saga

  1. I love that you are telling your Grandfather’s story here on your blog. What’s even better you are shedding a positive light on these stories. I heard myself saying “hooray” for him as I read this saga. What I especially like is the way you sum up. Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It gives a very nice feeling when I visit Sukhna lake. Infact few days back I was there in Sukhna lake and I literally felt like shouting out loud there that “people my Grandpa was one of the member of the team which made this Sukhna lake”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

